Nintex Workflow, What happens If...

It’s been a little too long since our last blog post, so I’ll try to give you some good value. Recently, while working on a client project, we ran through several scenarios that were very interesting, so I thought I would share them with you.

My client was looking at leveraging User Defined Actions as well as limiting which Workflow actions a user had available to build workflows. So the client wanted to know what would happen if they made a UDA or a workflow with workflow actions and later turned those workflow actions off. So here is the answer:

If you turn off a workflow action that is in use for a workflow, the workflow will continue to function as advertised. The workflow will work until the workflow is modified and re-published. Attempting to publish the workflow after a Workflow Action has been disabled will result in an error being thrown.
As for a UDA, the same will apply. You can make changes to a UDA and they will not be cascaded to a workflow unless the workflow is republished OR you analyze the UDA and click Republish all Workflows… which will force a republish of all workflows using the UDA… therefore cascading the UDA update.

As with everything Nintex Workflow… these changes only apply to new workflows initiated after the changes. All workflows in progress will follow the schema of the workflow that was valid at the time the workflow was initiated.

Also as a side note, I notice that many clients look to limit which workflow actions to provide to their team. It is my humble opinion that most of the workflow actions are relatively harmless. The workflow actions that can cause harm typically require authentication, which should protect you from non-admins creating wickedly dangerous workflows. Enabling Safe Looping in Nintex Central Admin settings is also recommended, as it will prevent your workflow designers from creating infinite loops.

Happy Workflowing!

-Jason