How to Remotely Wipe or Erase All information From your Lost Activesync Device Using Office 365

So you went to the Rolling Stones concert last night and had a few too many — now you can’t find your phone! You begin to piece back together the night — did the random guy that insisted on hugging everyone take it? Did you drop it while dancing? Is it in the taxi? On the plus side, you didn’t drunk dial anyone. No matter the reason, your phone contains powerful information. A wise man — Spiderman's Uncle Ben — once said: "With great power comes great responsibility." Ok, we get it, these are frustrating times and you've learned your lesson. Luckily, TekDog is here to save the day.

Before you continue, please consider the following:

This will perform a factory reset on your phone and erase all data including personal information, photos and anything stored on memory cards! No data removal process leaves your phone in the same state as when it was brand new. You can only clear the data from a device if it was set up to use Exchange ActiveSync. If the device wipe was an error, it's possible that data might be recovered using sophisticated tools.

A small price to pay for peace of mind. The following video will walk you through the Device Wipe process:

Unable to play the video? Follow these steps below!

  1. Log in to your Office 365 account at https://login.microsoftonline.com/

or http://portal.office.com/

  1. Select Mail from the Office 365 portal
  2. Click the Settings menu gear icon
  3. Select Options
  4. Click the arrow next to General
  5. Select Mobile devices
  6. Choose the device
  7. Select the Wipe device icon
  8. Select Yes
  9. When the Status updates to Wipe Completed select the Remove device icon
  10. Select Yes